Antiquarian & Vintage Books

unterwegs is a a modern and neatly arranged antiquarian centrally located in Berlin-Mitte. We offer beautiful, informative and inspiring publications on architecture, photography, the history of Berlin and the region of Brandenburg as well as Baedeker and Meyer travel guides.

Specialization is our strength. In order to offer in-depth bibliographical knowledge and advise our customers on which books to buy, we concentrate on just a few publication subjects and fields:

  • Architecture
  • Photography books / Photography
  • Berlin/Brandenburg
  • Travel guides

unterwegs does not only care for the ‘traditional’ collectors of books and photographs, our shop in Berlin-Mitte and of course our Online-Shop also welcomes young, prospective collectors and creative people looking for inspiration and ideas from vintage books and photographs.

Our Customers

unterwegs’ clients and customers include important private collectors, libraries and academic institutions, historians and curators but also architects, photographers, production, graphic and fashion designers, film makers, stylists, advertising professionals and creative people from all over the world.

The Antiquarian

unterwegs is run by Marie-Luise Surek-Becker and her team of part-time employees. Following her training as a bookseller, a secondary school qualification and university diploma in German philology, for many years Surek-Becker worked with Kiepert, then the leading bookshop of (West) Berlin, for some years as head of the antiquarian department, which specialized in the subjects of Berlin, travels and natural sciences.

 

Having started as a sideline mail-order business, unterwegs advertised and sold books via print catalogues, and soon also via internet and second-hand book fairs, whilst Surek-Becker continued with Kiepert and later worked as a book scout for the Jewish Museum Berlin.

In 1993 Surek-Becker left Kiepert and founded unterwegs, her own second-hand mail-order business with books on a selected range of topics, i.e. Berlin, (middle)eastern Europe as well as historic and modern travel guides.

She was one of the initiators of the Berlin second-hand book fair, LiberBerlin, which took place for the first time in 2000 and of which she was one of the organizers up until 2007.

In 2003, the scope of unterwegs’ activities was extended with a shop and gallery and (in addition to books on Berlin and the region of Brandenburg) with a range of selected titles from the fields of architecture and photography. The gallery has this far exhibited architectural and urban photography by Georg Bartels, Mario von Bucovich, Karl-Ludwig Lange, Hans-W. Mende, and others.

Since the year 2000, Surek-Becker has been a member of the Association of German Antiquarians and of the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB).

Antiquariat

foto_seite_antiquariat_970x450

 

Das Unterwegs Antiquariat bietet seinen Kunden in übersichtlichem, modernem Ambiente schöne und richtungsweisende Bücher zur Architektur, Fotografie und zur Geschichte Berlin/Brandenburgs sowie Reiseführer von Baedeker und Meyer.

In der Spezialisierung liegt unsere Stärke: Daher ist das Antiquariat auf Bücher und Fotografien weniger Gebiete ausgelegt. Das ermöglicht uns fachliche Tiefe und gezielte Beratung auf den Gebieten:

  • Architektur
  • Fotobücher/Fotografien
  • Berlin/Brandenburg
  • Reiseführer

Unterwegs wendet sich nicht nur an den traditionellen Sammler von Büchern und Fotografien, Leser unserer Kataloge und Kunden auf der Antiquariatsmesse LiberBerlin. Unser Ladengeschäft richtet sich auch an Nachwuchssammler und junge Menschen, auf der Suche nach Vintage Books und Fotografien als Inspiration und Impulsgeber für ihre kreative Arbeit.

Unsere Kunden

Unsere Kunden sind bedeutende Privatsammler, Bibliotheken und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen, Historiker und Kuratoren, aber auch Architekten, Fotografen, Designer, Filmer, Modemacher, Stylisten, Werbefachleute und Kreative aus der ganzen Welt.

Die Antiquarin

Unterwegs wird geleitet von Marie-Luise Surek-Becker. Nach Buchhändlerlehre, Abitur und Abschluss ihres Germanistikstudiums sammelte sie viele Jahre Berufserfahrungen in der damals führenden Berliner Buchhandlung Kiepert, u.a. als Leiterin des auf Berlin, Reisen und Naturwissenschaften spezialisierten Antiquariats.
 
die_antiquarin_1
 
1993 machte sie sich mit einem ausgewählten Programm selbständig. Schwerpunkte waren Bücher zu Berlin und Ost(mittel)europa sowie Reiseführer.

Das Unterwegs Versandantiquariat wurde zunächst als Nebenerwerbsbetrieb geführt. Der Verkauf erfolgte über eigene Kataloge, bald schon auch übers Internet und Antiquariatsmessen. Daneben war Frau Surek-Becker weiterhin für Kiepert tätig, später auch als Book-Scout für das Jüdische Museum Berlin.

Sie gehörte zu den Initiatoren der Berliner Antiquariatsmesse LiberBerlin, die im Jahre 2000 an den Start ging und die bis 2007 von ihr mit organisiert wurde.

2003 erweiterte Frau Surek-Becker das reine Versand- in ein Ladenantiquariat mit Galerie. Die Fachgebiete Berlin/Brandenburg und Reiseführer behielt sie bei und erweiterte sie um ausgewählte Titel zur Architektur und Fotografie für das Publikum am Ort. In der Galerie zeigt sie bevorzugt Architektur- und Stadt-Fotografien, u.a. Georg Bartels, Mario von Bucovich, Karl-Ludwig Lange und Hans-W. Mende.

Seit 2000 ist Frau Surek-Becker Mitglied im Verband Deutscher Antiquare und der International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB).